IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR GRADUATING STUDENTS
Please read this ENTIRE section and email email@example.com if you have any questions. Failure to do so could result in not graduating or receiving your diploma.
The Graduate School requires an average of “B” or better in order for graduating students to receive their certificate. Students will receive credit for courses in which they score a “C” or higher, but the average over all courses must be at least a “B”. Required courses for which students receive a “C-“ or lower must be retaken and at least a “C” earned.
A pre-completion final exam is required to assess achievement of each program’s Student Learning Outcomes. The final exam will be administered in the semester in which the last course in the certificate is taken. When you request registration for the last course in your certificate, email Distance Education Program Coordinator Georgette Kluiters to let her know that you will need to take the final assessment this semester. The final exam will be open book, administered in E-Learning, and checked with Turnitin anti-plagiarism software to ensure originality. The exam will be graded by the certificate coordinator using a rubric and responses will be discussed with the student.
Any outstanding financial obligations (fines, tickets, fees, etc.) will need to be cleared with the University Bursar. Your final grades, transcripts and diploma will not be released until all debts are paid. All emergency or short-term loans from the college and university must also be paid before graduation. You can view and pay any current charges due on One.UF under University Bursar.
If you received financial aid, you will need to complete an exit interview. Your final grades, transcripts and diploma will not be released until this is done.
Follow these instructions to complete an exit interview
- Go to One.UF
- Click on “Financial Services” from the Online Services menu on the left
- Click on “Exit Counseling Student Loan”
- If you don’t remember your pin, call loan services at 352-392-0737
The commencement ceremony: Check the Registrar’s website for information regarding the commencement ceremony, including the schedule, information for graduates, information for guests, and more. You do not have to attend the graduation ceremony in order to graduate. Graduates attending commencement need to order and pick up their caps, gowns and hoods from the University of Florida Visitor Center/Bookstore.
- Please be sure to return your gown and hood to the bookstore at the UF Welcome Center after graduation. The cap and tassel are yours to keep. Do not leave your gown or hood on a chair or table somewhere without checking it in. Failure to turn in your gown or hood will result in the withholding of your diploma and transcripts by the university.
Diplomas: Diplomas will not be handed out at graduation. The Office of the University Registrar will mail diplomas to your permanent address on file with the University of Florida approximately 8 to 10 weeks after graduation. Diplomas measure 11 ¾” high by 16” wide.
Make sure your permanent address is correct in the UF Directory by following these steps:
Log into MyUfl
Under “Main Menu,” “My Account”
Select “Update Directory Information”
Canvas is the course delivery system used by our department. Students can access assignments, readings, quizzes, tests and pre-recorded content using this system. Interactive discussion boards are available 24-hours per day for students to engage in scholarly discussions with classmates and instructors. Students can monitor their progress in a given course using an interactive gradebook tool.
During the registration process you will be asked to create a GatorLink account. The GatorLink login and password you create is what you will use to access e-Learning. A couple of weeks before classes start, detailed instructions will be sent out to assist you with accessing your classes.
If it is before the drop/add deadline, students may drop their course without fee liability. The fees will be refunded, and the course will not appear on the student’s transcript.
If it is after the drop/add deadline, students may still drop their course(s), but the fees will not be refunded, and the student will be assigned a “W” for each course on their transcript. Check the critical dates for the drop/add deadline and email firstname.lastname@example.org with any questions.
- You cannot drop your course in One.UF. If you drop your course in One.UF you will still be liable for tuition.
- You cannot drop your course by contacting your course instructor.
Master’s degree students are eligible for private and federal loans. Graduate certificate students are not eligible for federal financial aid but may be eligible for private loans. Non-degree seeking students are not eligible for federal or private loans. Please contact the Office of Student Financial Affairs about possible private student loan eligibility and any questions.
Students seeking federal student loans must complete their Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) as early as possible.
Financial aid applicants are responsible for ensuring the timely completion of several steps through FAFSA and UF’s One.UF in order for funds to be disbursed by the tuition due date.
UF’s Federal School Code is 001535.
Every semester a Registration Preparation Hold, Local Address Information Hold and an Emergency Contact Hold are placed on all University of Florida student accounts. These holds need to be cleared by the student before the student can have access to his or her course(s).
Please follow these instructions to clear the hold(s):
- Go to One.UF.
- Click onto the “Holds” tab under Action Items on the left of the One.UF screen.
- Click on “Holds.”
- Follow the directions to clear the Registration Preparation and Emergency Contact Hold.
- Log out of One.UF completely, close your browser, and then log back in to One.UF to verify that the hold was successfully removed.
If you have an Immunization Hold, it does not apply to you. You do not need to have your immunization records sent to the University of Florida. The distance education registration team will ask the University of Florida registrar to have this hold removed for you internally. If you have any additional holds, please contact email@example.com.
Tuition is $524.67 per credit hour for all students, regardless of location. This tuition rate is subject to change. Our program does not accept the UF EEP or Florida State Tuition Waiver. We are an off-book program and do not receive funds from these programs. Non-degree and Certificate will pay Capital Improvement/Technology fees. MS students will pay Capital Improvement/Technology/Financial Aid fees. Please click here to learn more.
Students may pay tuition via credit card, electronic check, or paper check. Note that a processing fee is assessed for credit card payments. Payments can be made approximately three weeks before the semester begins. We will communicate payment instructions once UF has loaded tuition into the system.
Our program appreciates and welcomes veterans. For information on how to apply your G.I. Bill or V.A. Tuition Assistance, please contact the Office of Student Veteran Services. Active duty students should also contact the Bursar’s Office.